Tags

, ,

HandPower Vested In Me: Mouse, SAI

I have been reading Animal Farm the last week or so, and I stumbled upon the quote:

“The distinguishing mark of man is the hand, the instrument with which he does all his mischief.”

Not only has our levels of intellect have made us separable from animals, but it is our hands-most specifically the opposition of the thumb.  They aided us in picking berries, donning weapons, holding writing implements…most gratefully, helping me type this post up.

We owe a lot to them.  I mean, although we’re a rather inventive species, we’d be a little farther behind than where we are now without them.

Our hands have done so much for us as we tell them what to do-like the hardworking employees of a business.  However, it is the business that makes the workers.  There are some businesses that function for good causes, and some for the ‘bad’.  The bad being, for example, using one’s hand to pull a trigger.

After all, the human mind is not always moral.

Now, in the eyes and minds of the animals in Animal Farm, this is what they mainly see.  To them, we are unpleasant beings.  We have learned to accept the cruel thought that we are superior to other animals, due to our ability of thought and our self-realization-and they have realized that…

“No sentimentality, comrade…The only good human being is a dead one.” 

Woah there. ヽ(゚Д゚)ノ

But yes, the feeling of inferiority is very unpleasant; you would agree if you have experienced it, no?  It’s quite a sad thought that sometimes we find other members of our own kind inferior or superior to ourselves.

“All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.”

How many years will it take for everyone to accept the equality of all animals(which includes humans)?  I’m sure that it’s nearly impossible.

Now for the call to action.

have you ever thought about losing a hand?

It has been one of my top greatest fears-losing a hand.  Especially my dominant hand.  As an aspiring artist, I have been always working with my hands.  They are so very important to me-and if I were to lose one… I’d possibly sink into the lowest of my life.

(ノTヮT )ノ I love you, hands!

…But yes, the hands are what carry out all of our actionsLike the lieutenant to the mind.  Whatsoever we do our hands remain silent, waiting for orders.

Just make sure, comrades(*cough*), that you use them, and you use them well.  Not to carry out the morally wrong, but the right; as you are obligated to do so!

There is power in the fingertips, if you can feel it-pulsating within your veins.

With that power, we can do oh, so many things.  It’s frightening to think about it.  But I suppose it’s that power that allows us to be both revered… and in the Animal Farm’s perspective, abhorred.

But yes, appreciate your hands.  Kiss them.  Throw a party for the hands you may always take for granted.  ╰( ´◔ ω ◔ `)╯

(Oh but of course, legs and toes are important too-just throwing that out XD)

-♠

