Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“It is not what you see that is art.  Art is the gap.” -Duchamp

Angel in the Shadow

Angel in the Shadow: A digital piece I created during the break from a bad day. (Mouse, SAI)

Before class one day, I rushed over to my friend excitedly, with some new art pieces in my hands.  She was excited as well, and took it eagerly.

I realized after a brief moment however, that she was skimming through the pages.  I was happy that she looked dazzled, since I was quite proud of the art myself, but I couldn’t help but feel uneasy when I saw her skim around.

“Did you look at the dialogue?” I asked her.  In reply, she told me “Oh, no I just skipped it.  The art is really good though! It’s beautiful!”

Despite the compliments, I felt hurt.

Is my art just…meaningless?  Can no one really see what I really try to express?  I kept asking myself such questions.

I felt as though I was a failure of an artist.  That I could only make pretty pictures with no purpose whatsoever; just empty shells.

But when I heard Duchamp’s quote in English class, I instantly felt a connection.  Art is much more than what you see there.  There’s an entire hidden plane of emotion behind every piece.  Art is the gap.

And I felt doors opening.  My mind became more clear.  It’s as if I was born anew.

I felt like I had learned a new meaning of art.  That art wasn’t just to scribble and show the world.  It was more of feeling.  To feel and draw out these thoughts; get your mind flowing like a stream of ink to the page.

I felt the need to create art that made people think.  That made people stop and wonder about it.  I wanted people to acknowledge the sorrow I placed in the picture.  Dull lighting and the strict lines, perhaps.   The happiness the picture shows–maybe some vivid colors and confident strikes.Tree

The Mango Tree:  A digital piece originally made for an eventually cancelled(or perhaps postponed…) Siddhartha Post (Mouse, SAI)

Siren

Siren: A digital sketch (Mouse, SAI)

At the end of that day, I resolved to try to make more meaningful art.  Art that COULD make people think.  Make people stare at it in awe and wonder.  I would try to move people emotionally.

Art is difficult to understand, especially when there is a lot of meaning to it.  It’s just  good to do more than look at a piece.  Analyze it.  Empathize with the piece and the artist.  Try to connect with it.  There’s a lot more than just art there.  There’s a gap.

Now, more recently in English class, Mr. T passed out sheets of printer paper and several writing and coloring implements.  Then, we were to draw out whatever we felt as he read to us All Quiet on the Western Front and played semi-fitting music.

The purpose of this activity, he didn’t say.  Of course, I had some ideas about it; possibly to view our reactions to the imagery used in the book or maybe have us share with each other what we saw in those descriptions.  In any case, it was different than the usual routine and I loved it.

I believe that this little activity we’re doing will yet give me another great experience in learning about art, so I hope we’ll finish it up next week and perhaps I can talk more about it in a few more weeks!

Me happy

Ciao~!

-The Spades ♠

